“Only The Dead”, the new lyric video from WESTFIELD MASSACRE, the Los Angeles-based band featuring former DIVINE HERESY and SNOT singer Tommy Vext, can be seen below. The song is taken from WESTFIELD MASSACRE‘s forthcoming sophomore album, due this spring. WESTFIELD MASSACRE featuring Vext alongside lead guitarist Ira Black (METAL CHURCH, LIZZY BORDEN), guitarist Stephen Brewer, bassist Erik Tisinger (OTEP, THROWN INTO EXILE) and Brazilian drummer Dio Britto. WESTFIELD MASSACRE‘s self-titled debut album was released in April 2016 via Urban Yeti Records. The CD was recorded at Echelon Studios with producer Joseph McQueen. Regarding WESTFIELD MASSACRE‘s musical direction, Vext said: … Continue reading

HATE: Official Lyric Video For New Song 'Asuric Being'

Polish extreme black/death metallers HATE will release their new album, “Tremendum”, on May 5 via Napalm Records. The cover artwork was created by Daniel Rusilowicz and can be seen below. The official lyric video for the song “Asuric Being”, taken from “Tremendum”, can be seen below. HATE leader Adam “ATF Sinner” Buszko stated about the track: “The lyric for ‘Asuric Being’ is inspired by Rudolf Steiner‘s philosophical concept of Asuras – Spirit of Darkness or spirit of self-hood (egoism). It has a lot of archaic references and a history that long pre-dates Christianity. A truly great concept that has become … Continue reading

Track Premiere: Hate – 'Asuric Being'

The opening to Polish death metal outfit Hate’s new song, “Asuric Being,” has a military-sounding introduction with drum rolls on the snare before launching into full-force decimation. Like a machine, Hate plug away with machine-like drumming and alternate between faster, more aggressive sections and slower, heavier sections. The accompanying video flashes the lyrics on screen next to military-looking standards. Though Tremendum will be Hate’s tenth studio album, the band is clearly not about to slow down.  Tremendum is out on May 5 through Napalm Records. Pick up a copy here.  Track Premiere: Hate – ‘Asuric Being’ Track Premiere: Hate – … Continue reading

PHIL CAMPBELL AND THE BASTARD SONS: Video Diary From February 2017 Shows In Finland

A four-minute video clip featuring behind-the-scenes footage from PHIL CAMPBELL AND THE BASTARD SONS‘ (formerly PHIL CAMPBELL’S ALL STARR BAND) February 2017 visit to Finland can be seen below. PHIL CAMPBELL AND THE BASTARD SONS is the band featuring MOTÖRHEAD guitarist Phil Campbell alongside his sons Todd, Dane and Tyla, plus vocalist Neil Starr. PHIL CAMPBELL AND THE BASTARD SONS released its self-titled debut five-track EP in November via Motörhead Music. Produced by Todd Campbell at the band’s own Stompbox Studios in Wales, U.K., and mixed by MOTÖRHEAD producer Cameron Webb, “Phil Campbell And The Bastard Sons” loudly shoves you … Continue reading

Video Premiere: DEEP PURPLE's 'All I Got Is You'

Exactly one month prior to the release of DEEP PURPLE‘s new studio album, “InFinite”, the rock legends have premiered the official music video for their upcoming single “All I Got Is You”. The video includes images from the 97-minute movie documentary “From Here To InFinite”, and gives an in-depth insight into the band’s songwriting and recording process, for the first time allowing cameras in the studio. The movie is part of the limited CD+DVD edition of the album. “All I Got Is You” captures the purest PURPLE classic sound in four and a half minutes while staying well away from … Continue reading

Video Premiere: Persefone – 'Living Waves'

Progressive/melodic death metallers Persefone are following up the release of their album Aathma with a music video for “Living Waves,” the seventh track off their album which features Cynic guitarist Paul Masvidal contributing guitar and vocals.  The video features the band performing against a dark sky backdrop while a man travels through the snow, searching for something.  “Picking one song from an album that works as a whole, is always a complicated task,” guitarist Carlos Lozano says. “’Living Waves’ marks the middle point, musically as well as lyrically on the album before its conclusion, and with the addition of Paul … Continue reading

The Many Facets of Tilburg's Dodecahedron (Interview)

Chaotic black metal progressives Dodecahedron made their first imprint on the underground with 2012’s self-titled suite of crushing ideas.  The intervening years have been quiet in terms of band output – though the band shares members with Nihill and Exivious, who were active during that time – but next week we get a brand new exercise in high-concept dissonance via Kwintessens, due out March 17 on Season of Mist.  We conducted a little Q&A with guitarist/songwriter Michel Nienhuis and vocalist Michiel Eikenaar, much of which can be found in issue #150 (Decibel Tour cover).  You can read the remainder of … Continue reading

SNAKECHARMER Feat. Ex-WHITESNAKE, BLACK SABBATH Members: 'Second Skin' Album Due In May

Frontiers Music Srl will release SNAKECHARMER‘s sophomore album, “Second Skin”, on May 12. The British hard rock supergroup SNAKECHARMER was originally founded in 2011 by former WHITESNAKE members Micky Moody and Neil Murray along with the perfect mix of high-caliber musicians, including Laurie Wisefield (WISHBONE ASH), Harry James (THUNDER, MAGNUM), Adam Wakeman (OZZY OSBOURNE), and Chris Ousey (HEARTLAND). The band’s debut self-titled album was released in 2013 and musically the record showed a finely crafted hard rock style mixed with blues and melodic overtones, akin to Micky and Neil‘s former band and BAD COMPANY, with hints of early FOREIGNER as … Continue reading

FRANKIE BANALI's Wife Says QUIET RIOT's Former Singers Were Unprofessional, Unjustifiably Ego-Driven Assholes

The wife of QUIET RIOT drummer Frankie Banali has weighed in on the band’s new singer, James Durbin, calling him “a real frontman in every sense of the word.” Durbin, who became known as the “metal guy” on 2011’s season of “American Idol” after performing “Living After Midnight” and “Breaking The Law” with JUDAS PRIEST, joined QUIET RIOT last week after the dismissal of Seann Nicols (a.k.a. Sheldon Tarsha; formerly of ADLER’S APPETITE). Nicols was with QUIET RIOT for just a few months, but long enough to record the vocals for the band’s upcoming album, “Road Rage”. Regina Russell, who … Continue reading