Demo:listen: Hedenvandret

Welcome to Demo:listen, your weekly peek into the future of underground metal. Whether it’s death, black, doom, sludge, grind, thrash, heavy, speed, progressive, stoner, retro, post-, punk-, -core, etc. we’re here to bring you the latest demos from the newest bands. On this week’s Demo:listen we’re lured off the beaten path and led deep into the dark woods by Norway’s Hedenvandret. “Who we are is unimportant,” says the nameless vocalist of Hedenvandret, the most haunted black metal act to come out of Norway in some time. “We all play in other (non-black metal) bands, and . . . I wanted … Continue reading

MUNICIPAL WASTE To Release 'Slime And Punishment' Album In June

Richmond, Virginia’s MUNICIPAL WASTE will release its sixth album, “Slime And Punishment”, on June 23 via Nuclear Blast Records. The first single from the disc, “Amateur Sketch”, can be streamed below. Ryan Waste states: “We’ve been getting punished for the last five years by people asking for a new album. Now we’re here to return the favor with an aural onslaught of speed metal punk. Enjoy a taste of slime courtesy of the WASTE.” “We’re sorry this took so long,” comments vocalist Tony Foresta. “That was our bad. It feels good to be back musically kicking you in the balls… … Continue reading

ADRENALINE MOB Returns With 'King Of The Ring' Video

The official video for the song “King Of The Ring” from ADRENALINE MOB — the band featuring Russell Allen (vocals; also of SYMPHONY X) and Mike Orlando (guitar) — can be seen below. The track is taken from the group’s third studio album, “We The People”, which will be released on June 2 via Century Media. The follow-up to 2014’s “Men Of Honor” is the first ADRENALINE MOB release to feature the band’s new drummer Jordan Cannata and bassist David Zablidowsky (of TRANS-SIBERIAN ORCHESTRA). “We The People” will be available for purchase as a special edition CD digipak, gatefold 2LP+CD, … Continue reading

VOIVOD To Record New Album In August

Progressive sci-fi metal innovators VOIVOD have announced a new string of dates in support of their latest mini-CD, “Post Society”. The trek, which will kicked off in early June, will see the band playing festivals and club shows in Europe as well as selected dates in their Canadian home afterwards, including an appearance as support to METALLICA in Quebec City. VOIVOD drummer Michel “Away” Langevin stated: “The writing of the new album is nearing completion, but it is already time for us to fresh up the set list for the first leg of our European tour in June. I am … Continue reading

PAPA ROACH Releases Lyric Video For New Song 'American Dreams'

California rockers PAPA ROACH have released the official lyric video for their new song “American Dreams”, from their forthcoming ninth studio album, “Crooked Teeth”. Due on May 19 via Eleven Seven Music, the disc will be available digitally and physically, as a standard (10 tracks) and deluxe (10 tracks + 3 brand new tracks + 16 Live tracks Live at the Fillmore Detroit) editions (see details below). Written and recorded in a cramped North Hollywood studio, “Crooked Teeth” was produced by first timers Nicholas “RAS” Furlong and Colin Brittain, with the exception of “Born For Greatness”, which saw the band … Continue reading


Former GUNS N’ ROSES guitarist Izzy Stradlin makes a guest appearance on “Grandview”, the new single from John Mellencamp. Also featured on the track — which is included on Mellencamp’s new album “Sad Clowns & Hillbillies” — is country singer Martina McBride. According to NPR, “Grandview” is “the album’s only real rocker,” and it is “sung from the perspective a working-class middle-aged man whose biggest dream is outfitting himself with a trailer and getting out of town.” Stradlin previously appeared on Mellencamp‘s song “Miss Missy”, which was included on the rocker’s 1998 album “John Mellencamp”. “Sad Clowns & Hillbillies” is … Continue reading

JUDAS PRIEST Is Putting Finishing Touches On New Album, Says ROB HALFORD

British heavy metal legends JUDAS PRIEST are putting the finishing touches on their long-awaited follow-up to 2014’s “Redeemer Of Souls” album, singer Rob Halford has confirmed. Helming the sessions for the new disc are the band’s longtime producer Tom Allom, acclaimed British knob-twiddler Andy Sneap (MEGADETH, EXODUS, TESTAMENT, ACCEPT) and engineer Mike Exeter (BLACK SABBATH). Speaking to Planet Rock‘s Paul Anthony at the launch of “Hell Bent For Leather”, a new exhibition of leather jackets hand-painted by world-renowned tattoo artists, Halford stated about the progress of the recording sessions for PRIEST‘s new disc (see video below): “Well, we’re still tracking. … Continue reading

Listen to the new Cryptic Shift single ‘Cosmic Dreams’

Cryptic Shift release the single ‘Cosmic Dreams’ 28 April via UKEM Records. You can support Cryptic Shift by visiting their Bandcamp page. Speaking about the track, the band said: “An inter-dimensional barrage of head-splitting riffs and pulverizing shredding delivered at light-speed. ‘Cosmic Dreams’ forms the cataclysmic prologue of an epic sci-fi saga, in which a lone space traveller ventures beyond our dimensional realms to be engulfed in forces beyond apprehension. The spiralling events that follow will be continued in the upcoming Cryptic Shift  releases, and will include peculiar alien races, extra-solar civilisations, destructive space battles, aeons-old entities and beyond-human abilities.” Cryptic … Continue reading

PRIMAL FEAR: 'Metal Is Forever' Performance Clip From 'Angels Of Mercy – Live In Germany'

German power metallers PRIMAL FEAR are returning with a vengeance on June 2 with a brand new live album/home video, titled “Angels Of Mercy – Live In Germany”, on Frontiers Music Srl. A performance clip of the song “Metal Is Forever”, taken from “Angels Of Mercy – Live In Germany”, can be seen below. 2016 was a very busy year for PRIMAL FEAR. Following the release of their latest killer studio album, “Rulebreaker”, in January, the metal warriors embarked on a world tour which shattered all the previously held records for shows played in one year by the band. “We … Continue reading

RAGE To Release 'Seasons Of The Black' Album In July

Only fourteen months after the arrival of its “The Devil Strikes Again” disc, German heavy metal trio RAGE will release its 23rd studio album called “Seasons Of The Black” on July 28 via Nuclear Blast. “Our fans are getting RAGE metal of the very first grade,” says RAGE leader Peter “Peavy” Wagner. “We’ve been able to bring the band’s typical trademarks into eleven new songs, and we’re sticking to the course that we forged on the last album! This means hard and very catchy compositions that also sound thrash, aggressive and epic.” Since RAGE was revamped in 2015, the three … Continue reading