THE QUIREBOYS To Release 10th-Anniversary Edition Of 'Homewreckers & Heartbreakers'

THE QUIREBOYS‘ album “Homewreckers & Heartbreakers” will be re-released as a 10th-anniversary limited-edition digipack on September 3 via Off Yer Rocka Recordings.

A decade after releasing the album that cemented a long-overdue comeback, THE QUIREBOYS will be joined by H.E.A.T., AARON BUCHANAN & THE CULT CLASSICS and THOSE DAMN CROWS at London’s O2 Forum on September 14. The one-off gig will be an opportunity for fans to snap up the re-released version of “Homewreckers” — a QUIREBOYS classic that continues to delight a decade down the line with some quality bonus live tracks from the 30th anniversary aptly titled “Back At The Moon”, where they played their very first gig.

The 2008 album will be played in its entirety at the hotly anticipated show. And according to Guy Griffin, it’s impossible to underestimate the importance of THE QUIREBOYS‘ critically acclaimed fifth studio album.

‘Homewreckers & Heartbreakers’ was the record that re-established the band,” insisted the long serving guitarist. “We’d been back together for a few years but until then we were still testing the waters.

‘Homewreckers & Heartbreakers’ was the start of something special – until then everything had been done in fits and starts. But we’d played a lot of shows, we’d identified our sound and we had a settled lineup. We went into a great place in Bedfordshire, called Lost Boys Studio, to make the record. It’s in the middle of nowhere and there were no distractions. We came out with an album that, in my view, is second only to ‘A Bit Of What You Fancy’.”

A decade down the line, “Homewreckers & Heartbreakers” is still writ large across a QUIREBOYS live show — and for good reason. “Love This Dirty Town” and the epic “Mona Lisa Smiled” are timeless classics and the latter still has a special place in the heart of frontman Spike. “The idea came to me when I was working on another project in Spain,” he explained. “I was told about Salvador Dali and his wife Gaya and it was their lives and deaths that inspired the song. It’s a bittersweet love story and it’s a song that’s always been popular with our fans.” Griffin added: “The lyrics for ‘Mona Lisa Smiled’ are some of Spike‘s best. It’s a fantastic song.”

“Homewreckers & Heartbreakers” boasts myriad highlights — including the brilliant “Blackwater”. “That’s one of my favorite QUIREBOYS songs,” added Spike. “It’s about Jack Daniels — so that might be why! But it’s also about any journey that you make, only to realise that what you’re looking for might not be there after all.”

Ten years after “Homewreckers & Heartbreakers” proved THE QUIREBOYS‘ comeback was no flash in the pan, the fan favorite is long overdue a well-deserved reappraisal. “Looking back, it was a real labor of love,” added Griffin. “We had the time we needed to make the record we wanted. And it shows.”

Track listing:

01. I Love This Dirty Town
02. Mona Lisa Smiled
03. Louder
04. Hello
05. Blackwater
06. Fear Within The Lie
07. One For The Road
08. Late Nite Saturday Call
09. Hall Of Shame
10. Take A Look At Yourself
11. Josephine
12. Too Much Of A Good Thing (Bonus Live)
13. Homewreckers and Heartbreakers (Bonus Live)
14. Mona Lisa Smiled (Bonus Live)
15. Mother Mary (Bonus Live)
16. I Love This Dirty Town (Bonus Live)

THE QUIREBOYS To Release 10th-Anniversary Edition Of 'Homewreckers & Heartbreakers'
THE QUIREBOYS To Release 10th-Anniversary Edition Of 'Homewreckers & Heartbreakers'

Bookmark the permalink.